top of page

About Actors' Theatre

Founded in 1985, Actors’ Theatre has a long history of being a vital part of the greater Santa Cruz area’s theater community. The company is known for its productions of contemporary, cutting-edge plays and new works, and for providing a venue and outlet for theater artists to practice their craft and hone their skills.


Actors' Theatre produced one of the first short play festivals in the United States, which has become the renowned 8 Tens @ 8 Short Play Festival. Now the longest-running short play festival in the world, it will celebrate its 28th anniversary in 2024. The Festival supports emerging and established playwrights from around the country and internationally by showcasing their new work, and brings together the best talent from the local theater community and beyond.


Read more about our Mission and History here.

Executive Board

Suzanne Schrag, President

Brian Spencer, Vice-President

Marcus Cato, Treasurer

Karin Babbitt, Secretary

Board Members

Robin Aronson

Lillian Bogovich

Gail Borkowski

Hannah Eckstein

Gerry Gerringer

Evan Hunt

Denise Keplinger

Kathie Kratochvil

Joyce Michaelson

Anita Natale

Bill Peters

Miguel Reyna

Brian Spencer

Suzanne Sturn

Cathy Warner

bottom of page