top of page

Who Won Actors' Theatre 2018 National Playwriting Contest?

Scene from the 8 Tens Festival 2018

Our National Playwriting Contest had over 220 entrees this year - with submissions from several countries as well! Our judging panel of theatre professionals chose 16 winning plays, which will be produced for the stage during our 8 Tens @ 8 Short Play Festival 2019!

Speaking of directors, we have a top-notch group of local directors for the 2019 Festival! Below are the winning plays, playwrites, and directors.

Be sure to get your tickets to the January Festival early! The 2018 Festival sold out by the second week of the 5-week run! Tickets will go on sale in November 2018.

The winners are (in no particular order):

Morning in America

By William J. Royce

Director: Robin Aronson

The Rug

By Brian Spencer

Director: MarNae Taylor

The GreyBack Payback

By Mark Saunders

Director: Daria Troxell


By Mike McGeever

Director: Bill Peters

Jornada del Muerto

By Gwen Flager

Director: Marcus Cato

Love At The Louvre

By Dianne Sposito

Director: Peter Gelblum

What’s Left Over

By Eileen Flaxman

Director: Helene Simkin Jara

Tempus Fugit

By Greg Atkins

Director: Cathy Warner

Gossip Queens

By Steve Capasso

Director: Bpnnie Ronzio

Jello Salad

By John Chandler

Director: Erik Gandolfi


By Richard Lyons Conlon

Director: Miguel Reyna

The Dating Game

By Rod McFadden

Director: Nat Robinson

The Birthday Gift

By Elizabeth Douglas

Director: Kathie Krachtovil

Where’s This Train Going

By Bruce Guelden

Director: Anita Natale

Frodo Lives

By Elizabeth Flanagan

Director: Karin Babbitt


By Simon Hunt

Director: Sarah Albertson

Image above: "The New Client" by Paul Donnelly. Directed April Bennett. Featuring Alie Mac and Jennifer Galvin, at the 8 Tens 2018 Festival. Photo by Jana Marcus.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
bottom of page